Thank you for proving my point

It’s amazing what a bit of publicity can do. Theo Valich of www.brightsideofnews.com asked me if he could republish my blog on his site. I didn’t see why not. I knew it would generate hits, discussion, flamewars and all that. But that’s good business in this world.

So he did: http://www.brightsideofnews.com/news/2009/10/30/opinion-are-all-amd-fans—idiots.aspx

And the irony of it all is that most responses prove my point: There’s tons of AMD fanboys around on the net, who talk nothing but smack.

Read the comments on the article itself, or some nice forum discussions relating to the article, like here:

http://www.amdzone.com/phpbb3/viewtopic.php?f=52&p=169747

http://www.semiaccurate.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1015

It’s amazing what people get out of the article. Why am I an Intel fanboy? Am I saying that you should buy Intel? No I don’t. In the article I even said I’ve owned various non-Intel CPUs over the years myself, including various AMDs. Am I saying that you shouldn’t buy AMD? Nope, not at all. Did I say anything about prices? Nope again. Or what about business ethics and anti-trust and whatnot? Nothing whatsoever. Did I say that AMD’s technology has no merit whatsoever, or that they were never the first with any technology? Nope, never said any of that. Heck, I didn’t even say I liked Intel… because I don’t. But in a black-and-white world, if you’re not with us, you’re against us. I happen to live in a full colour world however (there’s more than just Intel and AMD, or x86). You should try it sometime.

Yet here come all these people with all sorts of personal insults and vague arguments about what I ‘forgot to mention’ that do nothing but prove the point I was making in the first place… All I said was that AMD fans get their facts mixed up and love to rewrite history, or even current events. And they respond with exactly that (and a lot of foulmouthing to boot). As the saying goes: It’s better to be silent and let people think you’re an idiot, than to open your mouth and take away all doubt.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

